

Report on Membership of the Joint Policing Committees

Hereunder is the current membership of the Dublin Citywide and Area Joint Policing Committees for the period 2014 – 2019.

The Garda Síochána Act 2005 made provision for the establishment of Joint Policing Committees in all Local Authority Areas. In Dublin City, this consisted of a Citywide Joint Policing Committee and 5 Area Subcommittees.

Guidelines for the operation of the Joint Policing Committees were introduced by the Department of Justice in 2008, to cover the period 2009 – 2014, the life of the previous City Council.

New guidelines were introduced to cover the period 2014 - 2019, and a report (no. 288/2014) on these guidelines was presented to the City Council, approving the establishment of the Dublin City Joint Policing Committee and five Area Joint Policing Subcommittees. Responsibility for issuing guidelines going forward rests with the Policing Authority, which was established by the Minister for Justice and Equality in January 2016.

Accordingly, the membership of the Dublin City Joint Policing Committee and the 5 Joint Policing Subcommittees for the period 2014 - 2019 is set out hereunder:

The Dublin City Joint Policing Committee consists of a total membership of 31 as follows:-

Dublin City Joint Policing Committee			
No	Members	Selection Process	
13	City Councillors	Agreed by Council	
Varies	Oireachtas Members	All members who express an interest in attending	
		meetings	
7	Community and	Selected by the City Joint Policing Committee	
	Business	Steering Group	
1	Chief Executive	Ex-Officio	
2	City Council Officials	Appointed by the Chief Executive	
2	An Garda Síochána	Appointed by the Commissioner	

The following is the full list of membership

- City Councillors: Lord Mayor Brendan Carr, Daithí De Róiste (Chairperson), Daithí Doolan, Kieran Binchy, Dermot Lacey, Áine Clancy, Gary Gannon, Teresa Keegan, Ray McAdam, Críona Ní Dhálaigh, Larry O'Toole, Cieran Perry & Michael Mullooly.
- 2. Oireachtas Members: Deputies Aengus O'Snódaigh & Maureen O'Sullivan (in addition to any other Oireachtas Members who wish to attend)
- 3. Community/Business Members: Peter O'Connor (Community Policing Forum), David Brennan (Business Rep.), Joe Donoghue (Fatima Groups United), Tony Duffin (Ana Liffey Drug Project), Zéphyrin Ngaliema Mukoko (Community/Migrant representative), Gerry Byrne (Community Representative) & Richard Guiney (Dublin Town)
- 4. Dublin City Council Officials: Declan Wallace, Assistant Chief Executive; Brendan Kenny, Assistant Chief Executive
- 5. An Garda Síochána: Assistant Commissioner Jack Nolan; Chief Superintendent Patrick Conway

The membership of the Subcommittees is as follows:

Dublin City Joint Policing Subcommittees			
Number	Members	Selection Process	
Varies	City Councillors	Councillors for each Area	
Varies	Oireachtas Members	Those who registered their interest /	
		numbers of reps in area	
6	Community and Business	Selected by the Area Joint Policing	
		Committee Steering Group	
2	City Council Officials	Appointed by the Chief Executive	
2	An Garda Síochána	Appointed by the Commissioner	

The following is the detailed membership of each Area Joint Policing Committee: -

Central Area Joint Policing Committee

- 1. City Councillors: Cllr. Ray McAdam (Chair), Cllr. Janice Boylan (Vice Chair), Cllr. Nial Ring, Cllr. Eilis Ryan, Cllr. Gaye Fagan, Cllr. Ciaran Cuffe, Cllr. Gary Gannon, Cllr. Christy Burke
- 2. Oireachtas Members: Deputies Maureen O'Sullivan, Mary Lou McDonald, Paschal Donohoe
- 3. Community/ Business representatives: Richard Guiney (Dublin Town), Angela Rutledge (Phizzfest), Regina Dunne (Docklands Business Forum), Irene Bent (Mountjoy / Fitzgibbon district), Mark Fay (North Wall Community Association) & Geraldine Comerford, (North Wall CDP) (Mark and Geraldine attend alternate meetings), Peter O'Connor (Community Policing Forum), Mel Mac Giobuin (North Inner City Drugs and Alcohol Taskforce)
- 4. Dublin City Council officials: Rose Kenny, Area Manager & Karl Mitchell, Assistant Area Manager
- 5. An Garda Síochána: Chief Superintendent Pat Leahy and Superintendents Gerry Murphy, Ann Markey & Daniel Flavin

North Central Area Joint Policing Committee

- City Councillors: Larry O'Toole (Chair), Tom Brabazon, Paddy Bourke, Declan Flanagan, Alison Gilliland, John Lyons, Damian Farrell, Deirdre Heney, Jane Horgan Jones, Naoise Ó Muirí, Ciaran O Moore, Mícheál Mac Donncha, Michael O Brien, Edel Moran & Seán Paul Mahon
- 2. Oireachtas Members: Deputies Tommy Broughan, Richard Bruton, Finian Mc Grath & Denise Mitchell
- 3. Community/Business representatives: Rose Wall (Mediation Services), Deirdre Tobin (Northside Business), Noel Magee (NABCO) 3 vacancies
- 4. Dublin City Council Officials: Dave Dinnigan, Area Manager & Deirdre A. Murphy, Assistant Area Manager
- 5 An Garda Síochána: Chief Superintendent Finbarr O'Brien & Superintendents Joseph O'Connor & Gerry Donnelly

South Central Area Joint Policing Committee

- 1. City Councillors: Daithí De Róiste, Pat Dunne, Daithi Doolan, Paul Hand, Vincent Jackson, Greg Kelly, Hazel De Nortúin, Rebecca Moynihan, Criona Ní Dhálaigh, Tina McVeigh, Ray McHugh & Michael Mullooly
- 2. Oireachtas Members: Deputies Aengus O'Snódaigh, Joan Collins, Bríd Smith Catherine Byrne,
- Community / Business representatives: Aoife Carragher (Liberties Business Forum), Antoinette Curley (Dublin 12 Local Employment Services), Joe Donohoe (Fatima Groups United), Bláithnaid Dunne (Ballyfermot Local Drugs Task Force/Lower Ballyfermot Residents Association), Vincent Hibbert (Inchicore Environmental Group), Joyce Reid (St. Catherine's Street Residents)
- 4. Dublin City Council Officials: Peter Finnegan, Area Manager & Bruce Phillips, Assistant Area Manager
- 5. An Garda Síochána: Chief Superintendents Frank Clerkin; Orla McPartlin & Lorraine Wheatley

North West Area Joint Policing Committee

- 1. City Councillors: Lord Mayor Brendan Carr, Áine Clancy, Andrew Keegan, Anthony Connaghan, Cathleen Carney Boud, Cieran Perry, David Costello, Emma Murphy, Nora Sammon, Noeleen Reilly, Paul McAuliffe, Seamus McGrattan, Teresa Keegan, Andrew Montague
- 2. Oireachtas Members: Deputies Dessie Ellis, Róisín Shortall, & Noel Rock
- 3. Community / Business representatives: Robert Murphy (Ballymun4Business), Teresa Lydon (Board of Ballymun Drugs Task Force/member of subgroup of Safer Ballymun), Tony Byrne (Order of Malta/Finglas-Cabra Drugs Task Force/Scouting Ireland), Francis Murphy (Shandon Gardens and Coke Oven Cottages Residents Association/member of Cabra Policing Forum), Martin Hoey & Triona O'Sullivan (Public Participation Network/PPN reps.)
- 4. Dublin City Council Officials: Dave Dinnigan, Area Manager & Aidan Maher, Assistant Area Manager
- 5. An Garda Síochána: Chief Superintendents Finbarr O'Brien & Lorraine Wheatley

South East Area Joint Policing Committee

- 1. City Councillors: Mannix Flynn, Anne Feeney, Chris Andrews, Kieran Binchy, Claire Byrne, Patrick Costello, Mary Freehill, Frank Kennedy, Dermot Lacey, Paddy McCartan, Ruairí McGinley, Claire O'Connor, Paddy Smith, Sonya Stapleton (14)
- 2. Oireachtas Members: Deputies Eoghan Murphy, Kate O'Connell, Jim O'Callaghan & Eamon Ryan
- 3. Community / Business representatives: Fionnuala Blake (Terenure Resident's Association), Esther McGrath (Beechill Community Group), Teresa Weafer (Ringsend & District Response to Drugs RDRD), Damian Coughlan (Harolds Cross Business Association / Harolds Cross Community Council), Martin Harte (Temple Bar Company) & Ciaran Flanagan (Docklands Business Forum)
- 4. Dublin City Council Officials: Rose Kenny, Area Manager & Brian Hanney, Assistant Area Manager
- 5. An Garda Síochána: Chief Superintendents Francis Clerkin & Orla McPartlin

<u>Declan Wallace</u> Assistant Chief Executive 6th March 2017